Public Debate at the European Parliament: FSR Climate presentation of the EU ETS Assessment Report

20th June 2018 @ 3:00 pm – 6:00 pm Europe/Rome Timezone
European Parliament, Room ASP 5G1

This Public Debate aims to gather policymakers from the European Parliament, Member States and the Commission to discuss latest and future developments of the EU ETS.

The event is organised by FSR Climate (European University Institute) in collaboration with DG Climate Action of the European Commission, as part of the LIFE SIDE project (co-funded by the LIFE Programme of the European Union). The project informs European policy makers regarding the design and implementation of the EU ETS legislation. The event will provide the opportunity to present the results of a literature-based report assessing the economic performance of the EU ETS, produced by FSR climate within the framework of the project.

Download the Summary and Conclusions of this Public Debate

Video with statements by Beatriz Yordi-Aguirre and Christian Egenhofer


Welcome remarks
Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy, Member of the European Parliament
Beatriz Yordi-Aguirre, Director, Dir B – European and International Carbon Markets (DG Climate Action)

Overview of EASME activities within the LIFE Programme
Patrik Kolar, Head of Department B, LIFE and H2020 Energy, Environment, Resources, EASME, European Commission

Introduction to the EUI/FSR Climate activities. The LIFE SIDE project: Presentation of the EU ETS Assessment Report
Simone Borghesi, Director, FSR Climate; Professor, University of Siena

Stefano Verde (FSR Climate) Allowance allocation, competitiveness effects and carbon leakage

Isabella Alloisio (FSR Climate) Interactions with other policies

16.00-16.30 coffee break

Francesco Nicolli (FSR Climate) Low-carbon innovation and investment

Tong Zhu (FSR Climate) The international dimension

Stakeholder panel followed by Q&A from the audience and concluding remarks


  • Christian Egenhofer, Head of the Energy and Climate programme; Director of Energy Climate House, CEPS
  • Simon Henry,  EU Policy Director, International Emissions Trading Association (IETA)
  • Nicola Rega, Climate Change & Energy Director, CEPI
  • Karoline Rogge, Co-Director Sussex Energy Group, University of Sussex & Senior Researcher Fraunhofer ISI